Only 5 Cookies

COOKIES!

This is a recipe that I came up with a few years ago because I wanted to make cookies that were good for me. I wanted to be able to snack on these cookies without feeling guilty! I call them Only 5 Cookies because the original recipe only has 5 ingredients and I also TRY to only eat 5 at a time πŸ˜‰

Preheat your oven to 350Β° F. If you don’t have non-stick baking sheets, use coconut oil to moisten the pans.

Dry Ingredients:

2 cups flour (I make my own flour by blending raw oats in the vitamix and sometimes I mix in raw almonds too)

2 tsp (or to taste) cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:Β 

4 very ripe bananas

2 Tbs. Peanut butter or another nut butter

Chocolate chips (this is definitely a “personal preference” type of situation… for me, personal preference means I need to limit myself to 3/4 cup πŸ˜‰ )

Optional: dash of vanilla extract

Directions:

Blend your flour and set aside. Mash up your banana and add peanut butter and then try not to just eat all of that. πŸ˜‰ Pour the flour over the banana mixture, mix and add cinnamon, chocolate chips and vanilla extract. The consistency is a funny thing. Since they’re not “normal” cookies and won’t rise or move while baking really, you should be able to form them into circular “blobs” on the cookie sheet without them expanding at all. When they’re baked, they’ll look the same just a little bit browner. If it’s too runny, add more flour, if it’s too stiff, add a little more banana or nut butter.

Blob the batter onto the cookie sheets (usually takes two cookie sheets) and bake for about 10 minutes. Again, this totally depends on your oven. To be honest, these cookies don’t actually need to be baked, there’s nothing in them that can’t be eaten raw, but they taste better baked. I usually gauge the readiness by checking the bottoms of the cookies for brownness.

563492_3447441585141_1357003276_n

Alterations!Β 

~In the fall I love to substitute the banana and nut butter for pureed pumpkin (and then be sure to add all the pumpkin pie spices as well!)

~Subbing the banana for apple sauce is really yummy too (it’s just more runny, so start with 1 cup and adjust from there)

~If you want these cookies to be truly processed suga-free, you can use raisins instead of chocolate chips!

~I sometimes add pecans or walnuts and dried cranberries in at the end too, for more of a granola-type taste!

Let me know what new things you discover with these cookies! They’re so so delicious and so easy and so diverse with options!! Share your thoughts!

One thought on “Only 5 Cookies

Leave a Reply

