Courage!

Good day, good people.

In the world of social media, Thursdays are all about “throwing back.” Today I want to talk a little bit about my story. Now, this takes courage because I don’t like showing pictures of myself, or really talking about myself in this way at all. That’s where the courage part comes in and I’m going to digress for a second to talk about that!

Aristotle said “Courage is the first of human virtues, because it makes all the others possible.” Feeling fear is a natural state and experience. It’s how we build courage within ourselves and translate that to the outside world that is so imperative as functioning humans. It’s all about building the foundation so that we can have courage in the face of fear. These are four steps that I take from Darren Hardy about building courage:

1. While we may fear things like spiders or death, the thing most people fear most is looking foolish. So, look foolish and risk feeling uncomfortable! Stretch yourself and the limits of your comfort zone and it will expand with you.

2. Be a legend in your own mind. Act with strength, fortitude and confidence all day. Carry your head high and speak your mind strongly. Courage is a muscle and it will grow with the more practice you give it.

3. Stop thinking and just go for it!! Take that dive. One of the biggest things that is holding you back from doing something is your ego and the longer you hold back, the more excuses you’ll come up with for not doing it! Truly, the only way through fear is through the middle of it!

4. Practice daily. Attack your fears on a daily basis! Like above, courage is a muscle, so practice these things often and eventually the fear will disintegrate entirely!

********

Now, with these four points right in front of me…. Here’s a bit of my story (and courage!)

IMG_7315

“Change your thoughts and you change your world.” Norman Vincent Peale.

I grew up in a time and place where I constantly felt like I didn’t fit in, like my hair was too bushy or my thighs were too big, like my nose was too button-y and my stomach wasn’t flat enough. The list goes on and as time went on and I traveled to different to different places or was in different schools, the list altered but it never left.

I finally decided that I’d had enough (about one month ago). Something had to change. I’ve always taken pretty good care of myself, but that nagging negative voice was always in my head, telling me I wasn’t good enough in one way or another. In the past month, through my own personal development as a human and working with like-minded people in the fitness community, I’ve found levels of excitement, satisfaction and dreams that I never thought I’d find in myself with regards to self-image.

Life is such a journey and I’m so looking forward to continually stretching myself as I reach towards new goals. And I know I’m not the only one who’s ever felt like this so make a change today! Be selfish, it’s about and for you. Smile at a stranger, eat some kale, do 5 push-ups, message me and say hi. Take a step to finding your ultimate self.

So much love.

PLS, ~Kiki

Leave a Reply

