Easy Peasy Vegan Waffles!

Happy Tuesday!

The day is coming to a close but I still want to post this… for a few reasons:

-Today I flew to the other side of the country to begin the next leg of The Honeymoon Tour. As I do on all my flights, I slept the entire flight so I’m very awake now!

-It’s Tasty Tuesday so I wanted to share my recipe for the best and definitely the easiest-to-make waffles in the world.

-If I were at home now, I’d make them for dinner. Instead, I’m sharing this recipe so that people on the west coast can make them for dinner and people on the east coast… midnight snack!

And here are (some of) the reasons I love these waffles:

-They’re waffles so automatically they’re delicious.

-These waffles actually have a lot of nutritional value and they’re salt and sugar free!

-It takes about 5 minutes to make the batter and while they’re cooking, you can do other stuff!

-They are SO easy to save for later; just put them in a ziploc bag, freeze them, and then pop them in the toaster when you just need to eat a waffle (happens to me every few days).

-They’re vegan but vegans and non-vegans alike love them!

OK let’s get to it.

IMG_7197

Start heating up your waffle maker…

Ingredients:

3 cups oats

1 Tbs baking powder

1 Tbs cinnamon

1 1/2 cups plain applesauce

1 1/4 cups non-dairy milk (your choice! I like almond and rice!)

****

Blend the oats in a high-speed blender to make flour. Mix with the rest of the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the applesauce and the milk. You may need to add more milk (or you can use water) just because the oats will probably start expanding and you’ll need it to be a bit thinner. The correct consistency should be like any other waffle batter, not too thin like crepes or even pancakes, but able to spread out on the waffle maker.

Spray some coconut oil on your maker (I get the Trader Joe’s kind!) and start makin your waffles! I have a waffle maker that makes two squares at a time. This size batch usually makes me 4 sheets of waffles.

Top with, whatever you like! MY favorite toppings include: just plain, with a tsp of nut butter, or two fresh strawberries and a half a banana cut up!

Enjoy and let me know what toppings you’re using!!

PLS, ~Ki

Leave a Reply

