Power Bowl!

This is my go-to meal. Whenever. I try to always have some sort of amount of the ingredients in my fridge/cupboard so that I can make it anytime. It’s totally my comfort food.

And it’s all plant based whole foods. There is nothing artificial in here. The soy products used (tempeh and miso) are fermented and therefore support very healthy digestion, as opposed to processed soy. Here’s a good article about fermented vs processed soy if you’re unfamiliar.

*****

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup Quinoa

1/2 Cup legumes (I’m usually choosing between chickpeas, lentils and black beans and sometimes I mix n match!)

Kale

Spinach

1/2 Baked Sweet Potato

1/3 Cup tamari pan fried tempeh (I like the Organic 3 grain tempeh from Trader Joe’s)

1/2 Avocado

1 tsp miso (I like to use South River Miso, but I’m biased because my dad makes this amazing miso in the mountains of Western Massachusetts)

Dash Nutritional yeast

*****

Directions:

Fill half of your bowl with a beautiful mixture of kale and spinach.

Rinse the potato, poke holes in it and bake it (or for a quick fix, you can even microwave it… 4 mins for a medium sized potato).

Cook your quinoa (I cook mine in a rice maker, and just with plain water, but you can get a little crazy here if you desire).

Cook your beans too, unless you’re using canned/boxed beans! While that is happening…

Pan fry the tempeh! I like to cut the package into cubes, put a little water in a cast iron pan, throw the cubes in there, douse them with tamari, and let them heat up and soak in the goodness.

Mash together the half avocado and miso. This acts as a dressing/sauce!

Now assemble the quinoa, legumes, potato and tempeh into the bowl. Top with the avocado sauce and nutritional yeast. ENJOY.

As with all my recipes, you can get crazier and more innovative! Sometimes I add beets or carrots, lemon drizzle, wild rice, caramelized onion… Man, my mouth is watering.

images-2

Let me know what you discover!

~kiki

Leave a Reply

