Rest Day Apple/Pear Crisp

Today is Thursday. It’s also the first rest day of Master’s Hammer and Chisel, the seriously awesome/fun/inspiring/challenging/rewarding newest Beachbody program that I’m doing right now!

Autumn Calabrese posted a video this morning telling everyone on this program to actually rest today, not to go for a run, or do some yoga, but to actually give our body the recuperation time it really needs as our muscle fibers are broken down and reestablished.

What does rest day mean to me? Well, kitchen creations, listening to a great book and practicing viola.

I grew up with apple trees in our backyard and there were always too many apples to just eat them all. They also were super organic and we never touched the trees (I think now my parents have started getting someone to prune them!) so the apples were often misshapen and therefore perfect to bake with!

My favorite recipe to make was Apple Crisp. I have since become vegan and therefore the recipe had to shift a bit. I think I’ve finally perfected the new version and that’s how I started this morning! I have also made it gluten-free!

Apple/Pear Crisp:

Fruit:

3 Apples, peeled, cored and cut up into little cubes

3 Pears, peeled, cored and cut up into little cubes

1 Tbs. ginger syrup

2 Tbs. apple cider

cinnamon, nutmeg, powdered ginger to taste (I use a lot!)

Combine all the ingredients together. There should be some extra liquid in the bottom of the bowl from the cider, this will help soften the fruit in the baking process, without them getting dried out.

Crisp: 

1/2 cup pecans

1 cup plus 1/2 cup oats (I use whole rolled for texture)

2 Tbs. coconut oil

1/3 cup pure maple syrup

1 Tbs. pure vanilla extract

Melt the coconut oil. Blend the pecans and 1/2 cup oats into flour (Of course, I used my Vitamix). Mix the flour, remaining cup of oats, oil, syrup and extract together. It should be “crumbly”, not too wet, not too dry! Adjust accordingly by adding more oats or oil, if you want it sweeter, add another bit of maple syrup!

IMG_0555

In a round glass pie pan, layer half of the fruit, half of the crisp, then the other half of fruit, and the remaining crisp on the top!

IMG_0556

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until you the fruit is soft under a fork, the crisp is crispier and a bit browned on top and your kitchen smells like an apple cinnamon HEAVEN.

I truly didn’t get a picture of the crisp before it was almost all devoured (I swear, I had some help!)

IMG_0557

I’d say, it’s turning out to be a pretty good rest day! 😉

Peace, love and cinnamon (forever),

~kiki

P.S. The book I’m listening to right now is The Slight Edge by Jeff Olson. Highly recommended read for all!!!

Leave a Reply

